Another Kate Creation's Blog

stampin', scrappin', paper craftin' fun!

Thank you, Special One February 8, 2011

Filed under: Baby,Thank You,Uncategorized — anotherkatecreation @ 3:00 am

     I have to tell you that I am trying to be better at this blogging thing and get some of my ideas out there for all of you to see, but it is tricky finding the time to do it all.  I mean, I track lots of other people’s crafty blogs and troll on sites, but when do they find the time to make the crafts, photograph the crafts, post and write about it AND have any type of regular life on top of that??

     Well, I can tell you that I found a neat trick that has really helped me – one of the ideas I have had was to take several pics of projects and then upload them all and stagger when I post them.  The other is a neat trick on scheduling the posts – I can actually type this up tonight and then set it to post whenever I want it to – tonight, tomorrow, or even months out!  So you see, when my post time says 3:00 am, be assured my friends, I AM in bed sleeping when it arrives in your inbox 🙂

     The card I wanted to share today is actually one I made for a friend (you know who you are and I know you are out there watching!), and I really love the way it turned out.  That being said, I am not really into the oriental things that are out there right now – there are so many papers, stamps and other things to use, but I fell in love with this set and had to use it for this special occassion.

     The set is from Hero Arts and the saying is Chinese for “Thank You” – which I stamped in English on the inside.  The floral paper is a special Japanese paper called washi paper and I believe that it is part silk and was really nice to work with – it is handmade paper and just sung to me in the store!

     In CA, I had the opportunity to go to a great stamp store (Cranberry Hill Merchantile) that had such neat supplies and stamps – I could get lost int here for hours!   One day while in there, I spotted the gold mesh ribbon in several other colors too – everyone seemed to have a roll of it, so I got bold and asked one lady what she was going to use it for since I had never seen it before.  She made a funny face and said that “EVERY card she made gets some – all the cards in Carmel area have it too!”  Like I was supposed to have known that!

    The girl was stamped on white cardstock, colored with colored pencils and then blended.  The scroll was stamped on two colors of pink cardstock and cut out and paper-pieced together then I stuck a gold brad at the top.  Some flowers with bling and a wrap of the ribbon, adhere the girl and viola!  A cute thank you for a special someone!

 

2 Responses to “Thank you, Special One”

  1. Molly Says:

    Beautiful, beautiful! Love the papers, colors and techniques. XO

  2. Colleen Says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE it…and so did EVERYONE that I sent them too! I have to say…there isn’t one thing so far that you have created that I have not liked! Keeep on creating!!! ❤


Leave a Reply

