Another Kate Creation's Blog

stampin', scrappin', paper craftin' fun!

Happy Birthday to my Crafting Buddy! April 28, 2011

Filed under: Birthdays,cricut,Cuttlebug,Fiskars,Gifts,Spellbinders,Uncategorized — anotherkatecreation @ 3:00 am

 

Today is my oldest daughter’s birthday – Abbie turns 8!!!  Happy Birthday!!!  I am so excited for her I had to share!  While this year we are keeping it low key – (I’ll share in another post what we are doing once I have pictures) – a few years back we had a great tea party for her birthday.  I had such fun planning this party for/with her.  I thought I’d share some pictures of the fun things we made for everyone. 

First, we made invitations.  She chose the paper to be a Heidi Grace pattern in pink and brown, perfect for tea cups and tea!  I cut the mug and steam with the cricut and then added it to a scalloped oval.  Close To My Heart had a great set a few years back that had tea cups and this cute tea bag – we added that to the front with the stamping and string to make it “realistic” looking.

It’s hard to see it all in this picture, but this was ‘the ensemble’ we made for each guest.  I had fun going to different thrift shops in the area and finding  china for each of the girls to use as a place setting.  I then decorated the table with paper doily placemats and we made a coordinating place card for each girl.  In the background, you may be able to see the fun tissue paper flowers we made for the girls – oh, they had so much fun with these!!

And here is the favor box we made for each girl.  I found these brown tins at Michaels and covered them with the coordinating papers, then cut several sizes of cricut flowers and fluffed and stacked them and added a brown brad in the middle.  I then took tiny tags and stamped each girl’s name on one and added it just under the flower.  We added some small lip gloss treats to the box and viola – a fancy tea party and fun for all!

Now, as for the title of my post, Abbie is my crafting buddy – she is always by my side and loves to do creative things.  I love to see her take on things and even ask her for advice on cards or layouts sometimes when I need another set of eyes!  She definitely has her own opinions and is really growing as an artist.  I am so proud of all that she does and how poised she is for being ‘only’ 8 years old!

Well, I am off now to make her cake while she is out of the house, wrap a few presents ( oh, she’s got some good ones this year!!! ) and finish off some more things around the house.  This week is a very busy one in our house – we have Abbie’s birthday, her grandmother’s birthday ( Happy Birthday Glenda!), I have 4 friends with birthdays, 2 kids receiving First Communion this weekend, and all the regular day to day stuff!  Whew – I hope I make it to Sunday! 🙂

Thanks for stopping by today – I hope you all have an extra special day!

kate

 

4 Responses to “Happy Birthday to my Crafting Buddy!”

  1. Colleen Says:

    Busy Lady! Happy Birthday to Abbie! I know she’ll have a wonderful day! I remember the tea party and how much fun the kids had! You’re creativeness just amazes me!!!

  2. Molly Says:

    Sorry I missed that tea party….looking forward to having one with both you girls (and Meghan too) someday soon. Love the party “goods”! XO

  3. Lori Says:

    Hi Kate-
    We’re moving back to the states soon (yippee!) to be in NJ. I will definitely want to order some things from you so let me know how best to do that.

    thanks-
    Lori

    • Awesome news Lori! So sorry I haven’t been able to help you out in the past few months – my life is still in boxes! We are in a rental house and still looking for a house so for now everything is in storage 😦 I have very little out and craftiness is on a lull. Hoping that we’ll find a house sooner than later and that I can get back into things and get up and running again before the winter holidays! I’ll be sure to let you know! Congrats again on your move!
      ♥kate


Leave a Reply

