Another Kate Creation's Blog

stampin', scrappin', paper craftin' fun!

Dog Days of Summer June 8, 2011

Filed under: cricut,Ribbons,Scrapbooking,Uncategorized — anotherkatecreation @ 6:46 pm

Well, I thought it only appropriate as I typed this and found the pics I wanted to share that I titled this the ‘Dog Days of Summer’ since today my car thermometer hit 100* and we are very hot!  We finally got a little relief by buying  a small one room A/C unit for our living room and now that the kids are out of school we have been slumbering down here and everyone is feeling a bit better.  Tomorrow is supposed to be just as bad, so we are bracing for a low-key day.

This is a mini album that I finished at my crop in April but I haven’t had time to take the pics and post it here yet – time has been flying!  It is dedicated to our pup, Freddie who we call Freddie Bear since he looks like  teddy bear and is just as snuggly!

I had tons of fun picking the papers at CKC last year in Valley Forge from  Boxer Scrapbooks   and the book itself is from a FAV company – Creek Bank Creations – they have THE best chipboard albums and you can even create your own and they will cut it for you…so awesome!  And is you are going to order or get one, make sure to order the sanding helpers – big brother and little sister, I happen to think they are one of the best  on the market!

 

Okay, onward we go – I covered each of the pages on the front and back with patterned paper and then sanded the edges and inked them for a fun brown feel.  Cricut cut the front title and shadowed it for a pop effect.  I had a pile of stickers and embellies for dogs that I just picked and chose from and added them randomly throughout the book pages.  I had fun working on this and the kids certainly enjoyed the pics and fun of the book. 🙂

 

some fun ribbons tied to the silver ring make this really fun – and there is a dog tag there too – it matches Freddie’s real one! 🙂

 puppy love on each page!

and some fun pages from his first days home with us

 

This was a fun and quick book to make.  I am not all that big on the mini-albums for everything, but I definitely do not have tome to start another scrapbook for anyone in my family, let alone the dog.  So this way, we have the memories and pics all in one place and I can call it done!  If you haven’t already tried one, give it a whirl – it’s lots of fun and also very gratifying!

 

Hope you are all surviving the heat – take it easy and craft a bit if you can!

kate

 

4 Responses to “Dog Days of Summer”

  1. Molly Says:

    Very appropriate for these couple of days! Like the bone-shaped book and all the details. Glad you got ac. Stay cool and happy. XO

  2. Lisa Huttinger Says:

    Super cute! Love the dog bone idea! I know…..this heat is crazy………stay cool!
    Lisa 🙂

  3. Colleen Says:

    This was such a cute book! Freddie Bear is VERY lucky to have found a home with all of you!!

  4. Lori Says:

    Hi Kate-
    You must email me. I need to order some big clips. We’re moving to north NJ so I won’t be so far away anymore 🙂

    Thanks!

    Lori Mills


Leave a Reply

