Another Kate Creation's Blog

stampin', scrappin', paper craftin' fun!

Flowers On Black March 23, 2012

Filed under: DeNami Design,Ribbons — anotherkatecreation @ 1:00 am

Hi All!

So I had this vision…. I saw this beautiful shirt a while back in a catalog and thought – “WOW!  That pattern is stunning… it would look really cool done on a card.  I wonder if I can pull it off?”  Fast forward to the other day when I sat down to make some cards and I had no thoughts as to what exactly to make.  I thought of that black cardstock and the challenge I wanted to attempt and here is what came out.

I stamped the flower and leaf images with white ink and then colored them with prismacolor pencils.  Blended the colors just a touch with the gamsol technique and was pretty happy with how it turned out.  It’s hard to see in the picture because of the lighting, but it is fuschia and turquoise and a lime green on the black with white.  Not too shabby for a first attempt, so I went on to make this card too…

 

Now, I like the first one, but the second card turned out good too.  It was fun to “play” with a new technique and see how it turned out.  I like the look of the colors on the black, but I have to say that choosing the right colors to color with is the key.  Not many colors will show up very well on the black cardstock, I had to be choosy.  And that is one reason why I chose the simple flowers and leaves.  These DeNami stamps were just the right stamp to try this with and now I am addicted to these little flowers….must make more!

Hope you enjoy – maybe it will inspire you to try something new today too!

Have a great weekend!

kate♥

 

2 Responses to “Flowers On Black”

  1. Molly Ames Says:

    Ingenious – I love them both. XO

  2. Colleen Says:

    cute idea! I like the black and purple!


Leave a Reply

